My grocery list must-haves

I sometimes get asked “Samara, what are some healthy food ideas I can put on my grocery list?”. So I decided I would list the items that are on my weekly shopping list and the items I ensure are always stocked up in my fridge and pantry.

Grocery shopping is actually something I look forward to each week (I’m weird, I know). I have learnt over the years that writing a list before heading to the store is absolutely essential, otherwise you end up leaving with a heap of unhealthy items, and you go way over your budget. I plan every single meal and all the snacks my partner and I are going to eat for the week, this way I know exactly what I need to buy so I avoid having to go back to the store throughout the week. I also work out the exact amount of each food I need so nothing goes to waste (I hate wasting food).

Hopefully this list gives you some inspiration when writing your own grocery list.

(And no, not everything on this list is healthy because it’s okay to treat yourself sometimes).

01ud1dm1o1_540.jpg

Fresh produce

Sweet potato
Potato
Carrots
Sweetcorn
Lettuce
Kale
Broccoli
Onion
Red onion
Garlic
Zucchini
Mushrooms
Spring onion
Bananas
Apples
Oranges
Lemons
Tomatoes
Strawberries
Raspberries
Blueberries
Kiwi fruit
Grapes
Avocado
Watermelon

appetite-1239172

Frozen produce

Frozen peas
Frozen corn
Frozen mango
Frozen mixed berries

large (2)

Grains

Rice
Oats
Rye bread

Meat

Atlantic salmon
Grass-fed beef mince
Free-range chicken breast
Bacon

Fridge and freezer

Water
Cheese
Organic yoghurt
Dairy-free yoghurt
Almond milk
Nuttelex spread
Mayonnaise
Minced garlic
Minced ginger
Lemongrass
Kaffir lime leaves
Green curry paste
Red curry paste
Eggs (I don’t actually need to purchase these as I have chickens)
Ice cream (my partner loves ice cream!)

Dried herbs, spices, condiments and oils

Cayenne pepper
Chives
Cinnamon
Cumin
Coriander
Dill
Garlic powder
Mint flakes
Nutmeg
Onion powder
Paprika
Turmeric
Rosemary leaves
Sage leaves
Sesame seeds
Thyme leaves
Parsley flakes
Himalayan pink rock salt
Black peppercorns
Vegetable stock
Chicken stock
Cayenne pepper sauce
Soy sauce
Worcestershire sauce
Olive oil
Coconut oil

Nuts and seeds

Almonds
Brazil nuts
Hazelnuts
Walnuts
Cashews
Pecans
Chia seeds
Pepitas
Sunflower seeds
Sesame seeds

dried-fruit-1118233.jpg

Baking

Flour
Cornflour
Almond meal
Caster sugar
Rapadura sugar
Coconut sugar
Stevia
Bicarb soda
Baking powder
Vanilla extract
Cocoa
Honey

Miscellaneous pantry items

Tinned tuna
Kale powder
Drinking chocolate
Nespresso pods
Granola (I make my own)
Coconut water
Coconut milk
Honey
Maple syrup
Nut bars
Vinegar
Apple cider vinegar
Vegemite
Peanut butter
Nutella

You may have noticed that there aren’t really many ‘snack food’ items on here. That’s because my partner and I try to avoid eating too much processed. Fruit, yoghurt and nuts are our favourite snacks. Or sometimes I bake my own healthy cookies/muffins etc.

Happy shopping!

PhotoGrid_1459376244056-1

Leave a Reply

